And then there was hope…

I had a last minute, screaming across the country trip to Huntsville, Alabama on Tuesday.  Flying out of Tucson is always a challenge – you never know what Marana living, Mexican hating yuppie you are going to sit next to for two hours.

As it turned out, I sat next to the former head of DHS for the southern Arizona region.  This immediately made me wince, but upon further discussion, it turned out that he confirmed all of my suspicions about the level of activity in the Tucson sector, the overt politics at play in dolling out resources and… basically everything else I think about life on the border.  Finally, here was a man who actually knew what he was talking about, had the position to truly know what the real story is… and he agreed with me.

More than the vindication of my beliefs, it was good to hear that – while things are horrible in the “pretend” world, the real world is not that bad. His recomended solutions were the same as mine… and Diane’s.  This points to two things, Diane and I are pretty smart… and it is the reason that he is the FORMER head of DHS in Tucson.

Good to know that there is hope that not EVERY American is a total automoton spewing out knee-jerk, media fed responses.

  1. #1 by Zoe Jussel on September 8, 2011 - 3:14 pm

    Oops, my knee just jerked but it had been asleep. Department of Health Services? Dept. of Homeland Security? Douglas High School. I am going to pick…….door number two!

Leave a Reply

