The “Day of Days”

Not even 24 hours in Cancun and I am getting my Caribbean “groove” on.

The mad dash through the Cancun airport was not exactly the most welcoming way to start our island adventure, but it did give me a little glimpse into the free-for-all that must happen here in the REAL tourist season.  I am used to being hawked condos, cabs and tours at Mexican airports, but this one was the worst so far.  “Señor, what hotel are you going to?” Señor, can I give you a lift?” I was expecting a bit of craziness, but this was pretty intense.  Nowhere were the familiar green and white taxis that you see all over the rest of Mexico.

I’m guessing that there are strict “airport only” cabs and shuttles that get to fix rates where they want them… and keep that competition down to the loud roar that it is.

The View from the Canun Hyatt Regency Room 821

The View from the Cancun Hyatt Regency Room 821

We finally found a shuttle that would cram us, along with a van-load of other tourists and their baggage, in for the ride to the hotel zone.  My ears were a little clogged from the flight, and I thought the guy wanted to charge us $600 pesos (around $58 dollars) per person to take us to the Hyatt.  I am glad Diane, though her ears were clogged as well, heard him correctly to say $16 Dollars… or else we might still be standing there.

Through this ordeal, serendipity happens.  In the shuttle, I was squeezed in next to a guy named Greg.  He works for a government contractor and had to burn his vacation before the end of the fiscal year, so on a plane he was… headed for Mexico.  We ended up spending this morning talking to him about all things running from Haitian politics to Buffalo Soldiers and even swung around to dissect Obama’s job policies.  Absolutely fantastic! (Turns out he is even a Lotus Notes administrator, so the man is a glutton for punishment.)

The Hyatt Regency has all the amenities of a typical Mexican resort hotel – and the wonderful staff to go along with that.  We were checked in by our private host in the Regency Lounge, carved off from the rest of the herd at the regular counter.  I felt kind of bad since I said something to Greg right as we were walking in, then turned around and was whisked to the top floor check in.  I guess he wondered where I had gone…

Once we had gotten our bearings, Diane and I made our first dip together in the Caribbean.  It was magical.  The water a turquoise blue that is unbelievable even when you are standing there.

It did not take long to know.. we were home.

  1. #1 by Zoe Jussel on October 1, 2011 - 9:46 am

    As you guys know, we LOVE Mexico with all it warts and glory. I wish we had the water up here that is found in that area, though. So nice to ease into without that shock effect. Have a great time and I guess today is Isla, eh?

Leave a Reply

